Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 29: Art, memory, music and mental health
4
0:00
-39:17

Hello You 29: Art, memory, music and mental health

Conversations and observations from a bench at Shrewsbury Castle
4

This afternoon, I did Bench (that’s how I’m referring to it now!) in the sunshine at Shrewsbury Castle, home to the Soldiers of Shropshire Museum. Hit play to hear what happened, and who I met.

Appearing or mentioned in this episode:

Artist Lee Lewis: Twitter, Instagram, YouTube

Catch her exhibition at the Gateway, Chester Street, Shrewsbury from April 12th.

Music promoter Chris Taylor of SY Gigs: Instagram, Twitter, Facebook

Next concert: Audrey Carmen & Roberto Bifferini, Shrewsbury Unitarian Church, Thursday April 18th

Refresh Cafe at Severn Hospice

Glou Glou

Berrys

Share

I’ll do Bench next on Tuesday April 23rd - St George’s Day, and Shakespeare’s birthday. I’ll be on a bench on Wyle Cop, Shrewsbury, outside the Lion Hotel. Come and say hello? I’ll be there from about 1pm for an hour or so.

In the meantime, if you’re interested in mental health, or antiques and collectables, and you’re curious as to how these things are being brought together on a street in the centre of Shrewsbury, watch out for the next episode! I’ll try to get Hello You 30 to you this coming weekend.

Leave a comment

I’d love to hear from you about this episode, or anything else that maybe you’d like to talk about on Hello You. I’m a good listener, it’s what I do. Get in touch?

Take care of yourself, and the people around you? And if you could spread the word about Hello You, and invite others into the Hello You family, I’d be really grateful.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.