Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 66: One Bit At A Time
4
0:00
-40:02

Hello You 66: One Bit At A Time

Catching up with Harry, Clare and Simon. The year since our previous conversation has been difficult. How are they bearing up? What happens next for Harry and family?
4

Almost a year ago, in Hello You 7, we met Clare and her young son Harry. They told me their family’s remarkable story. All seemed to be going really well.

But soon after we recorded that interview, Harry fell ill. Eleven months on, the ramifications of that illness have put the family through the mill.

Here, Clare and Harry, this time joined by dad Simon, explain what’s happened, where they are now, and what needs to happen next.

For all the information about organ donation, click here and visit NHS Blood & Transplant’s information page.

Please share that page widely. Share this, too? I’d appreciate it.

Share

As ever, your comments on this episode are very welcome.

Leave a comment

And I’d love to hear from you directly, with any responses to Hello You or ideas for people I could talk with, places or events I could go to, benches I could sit on.

If the ‘benches’ thing is new to you, check out these past episodes in which I sat on a bench to record random conversations on Wyle Cop, in the Dingle, and in Mumma’s Emporium (that was a sofa but I didn’t mind that at all).

At this moment, the sun is shining

On Sunday I’ll post the Hello You Sunday Supplement, a collection of links and recommendations that provides ideal reading to go with your Sunday morning cup of coffee. Make sure you don’t miss it, or future episodes of Hello You, by subscribing:

If you like what I do, I’m very grateful. I’ll be even more grateful if you hit ‘Like’ anywhere you can, if you rate and review the podcast, and especially if you share my stuff with the people you love. Or the ones you like. Or the ones you work with. Or anyone, really.

Share Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack

Thank you for being part of the Hello You family. Take care of yourself, and I hope the people around you are taking care of you, too.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.