Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 62: Dusk at Venus Pool
2
0:00
-50:04

Hello You 62: Dusk at Venus Pool

A Shropshire soundscape from a birdwatching hide overlooking a hidden lake
2

I have another soundscape for you!

Every evening around dusk, flocks of birds gather at Venus Pool, a nature reserve in the care of Shropshire Ornithological Society.

Phil Pickin, a Hello You listener and member of the society, suggested it would be a good time and place to record a soundscape, and invited me along. So on Tuesday evening, we settled down in one of the hides at Venus Pool, to watch and listen.

As Phil said to me, it’s a good place to let your brain slip out of gear for a while. I hope your brain can slip out of gear as you listen. Like all of the soundscapes, it’s best enjoyed using headphones or earbuds, as it’s recorded in lovely wide stereo.

Share Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack

I’m very grateful to Phil for being a great guide and companion on this little expedition, and for sharing the idea of recording there with me. If you know of somewhere that would make an interesting place to record - whether it’s peaceful or busy, everyday or unusual - let me know, and I’ll come along sometime.

If you’re interested in soundscapes, take a look at this article from the excellent folk at Dust To Digital. It talks about using field recordings to make sound art, and interfacing them with musical compositions. I’d love to get deeper into this kind of thing. Anyone want to collaborate?

My sister is an artist working in mixed media. She’s not done any sound art yet, but she did record this soundscape last week, which captures a sound I want to record but haven’t yet: rain falling. I’m sure I’ll have the chance to do that soon enough!

Thanks for being part of the Hello You family. Let me know what you think of this episode?

Leave a comment

And please, share it with your friends?

Share

Why not subscribe, to make sure you never miss anything Hello You-related?

Take care of yourself, and take care of the people around you.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.