Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 60: Gillian's Joy
6
0:00
-56:57

Hello You 60: Gillian's Joy

Flying above Shropshire on a Sunday afternoon
6

Where do you find your joy? What brings you joy?

I’ve been asking that question of various people since I started doing interviews on Hello You. If you want to share your answer with me, I’d love to hear it.

Leave a comment

Maybe we could talk about what brings you joy on a future episode of Hello You. I could even share in what brings you joy, as I do in this episode. A couple of weekends ago, Hello You listener Gillian took me along on a flight in a light aircraft around and across Shropshire. Flying is where Gillian finds her joy, as you’ll hear. I took some distinctly average photos as we flew over Shrewsbury, Attingham Park, the Wrekin, Ironbridge, Bridgnorth, the Clee Hills, Ludlow and back to Sleap Airfield. Lou Bennett took the pics of me and Gillian getting on board and taking off. Click to expand the images?


Hello You 28: Margaret’s Monocle, an episode from April, caught the ears of the good people at the Church of England’s Diocese of Lichfield. They asked me if they could use some of the audio to talk about what they do with Strengthening Communities and Places of Welcome. Here’s the video they made from it.

Share


It’s Shrewsbury Folk Festival weekend! That’s something that always brings me joy. And it can bring you joy, too. Here’s who’s on when, to tempt you further. I think there are still some day tickets available, and it would be great to have you there, joining the amazing experience. If you can't be with us, you can follow the livestream of many of the concerts. I’ll record some audio while I’m there, and possibly some video too. That’ll appear on my Instagram, so keep an eye out for it? And if you’re an Insta user, let’s follow each other on there?


I forgot to mention when recording this, but I’m really enjoying being on Bluesky rather than on Twitter/X. If you’re also a Bluesky user, let’s be mutuals? This is me. And if you’re still on Twitter/X and hating it, join us on Bluesky? It’s similar to Twitter but different. Say hello once you’ve joined up, and we can find our way around it together?

Share Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack


Thank you for being part of the Hello You family. I hope you have the best weekend you possibly can.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.