Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 51: 'So Much More Than a Podcast, This Is a Community'
12
0:00
-54:19

Hello You 51: 'So Much More Than a Podcast, This Is a Community'

Meet Nigel ... and help me build a Virtual Hello You Summerhouse
12

‘If you find something you enjoy, you’ve got to hold on to it’

Nigel’s been listening to, and commenting on, Hello You since the very first episode. And now he gets one of his own! Take a listen and meet him for yourself.

Share

I want to build a virtual summerhouse

But to do so, I need your knowledge and expertise with Facebook.

My idea is this: Create a Hello You hangout, so the Hello You family has somewhere to go online, and where we can invite our friends back to meet the family.

Should this be a Facebook Page, or a Facebook Group? What should I do, and not do, to make this fly?

If you’re a skilled or experienced Facebook user, can you give me some advice? What would you want from the Hello You Virtual Summerhouse?

Leave a comment

Bench!

I’m on the road again … (chooglin’, a la Canned Heat). On Friday July 12th, I’ll be sitting on a bench at the top of Pride Hill in Shrewsbury. Near the monument. Or if you prefer, between Greggs and Smiths. Under the trees, anyway.

I’ll be there from about 1pm, for about an hour. Come and say hello? I’ll record some conversations with whomsoever shares the bench with me, and you’ll hear them in a new episode the following Monday.

Tell your friends? And I’ll see you there!

Sharing is … y’know

Talking of telling your friends, could you share Hello You with your tribe, whoever they may be? Friends and family, colleagues and contacts, the people in your WhatsApp chats or Facebook groups? I’d be very grateful.

Share Jim’s Substack

Like is lovely

And while you’re about it, could you smash the Like button wherever you see it? On socials or Substack, if you can click Like it gives me good feelings. And helps more people find Hello You, too. Which is cool.

Keep in touch?

Email me (just reply to this), comment anywhere you find this, message me on your social platform of choice … I’d love to hear from you.

Thank you for being there

Take care of yourself, and take care of the people around you.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.