Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 45: How Horses Can Help Us Understand Ourselves, and Be Better
2
0:00
-47:42

Hello You 45: How Horses Can Help Us Understand Ourselves, and Be Better

The equine route to self-awareness
2

Some people have been around horses all their lives. I’m not one of those people. But an hour in the company of half-a-dozen horses opened my eyes to what they can teach us about ourselves. Hear what happened in this episode of Hello You.

Share

Julia Jones runs Altezza People, providing ‘fun, effective and experiential learning with horses’.

Spending time with horses, under Julia’s guidance, can increase our self-awareness and help us to know ourselves better … and, she says, can give businesses and organisations a new way to make the most of their people’s potential.

In this episode, you’ll hear what happened when I went along to a farm on the edge of Cannock Chase, to experience this for myself. I didn’t know what to expect, but I had a marvellous, and moving, time. This is my new horsey best friend, Nimrod:

If you want to see Julia in action, and perhaps learn how she and her horses could benefit you and your business or organisation, she has a free event called ‘Being Human - How can horses support our learning and development?’ which is taking place in a couple of weeks’ time. Click on the link to find out more and book a ticket.

Tell me what you think of this episode of Hello You?

Leave a comment

If you have a subject you’d like to hear talked about, someone who’d make a good interviewee or a suggestion for a place I can Bench, please get in touch?

Talking of Bench, I’ll be in Shrewsbury’s Quarry [Park!] tomorrow - Saturday - lunchtime from about 1pm. The organisers of Shrewsbury Pride are having a Pride Picnic, and I’ll be there to chat with people and hear their thoughts and stories. It would be great to see you, whether or not you’re coming to the Picnic. The conversations I record tomorrow will make up Hello You 46, which will come your way on Monday.

Share Jim’s Substack

And next Tuesday … Remember a few months back I went to Mumma’s Emporium, on Shrewsbury’s Pride Hill? It’s a combined cafe and antiques shop, run by Proud To Be Me, a local organisation supporting people’s mental health and wellbeing. I thought it would be a good place to Bench, so I’ll be on one of their big old sofas overlooking Pride Hill, from about 12:30pm on Tuesday June 11th. If you can’t place Mumma’s Emporium, it’s above Vision Express, opposite Superdrug. Take the stairs through the door on the right!

Share

Have a great weekend. Take care of yourself, and the people around you.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.