Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 39: A Sunny Shropshire Summer Soundscape
14
0:00
-15:43

Hello You 39: A Sunny Shropshire Summer Soundscape

As promised! Plus, dates for the next run of Bench
14

Share

‘I just love the soundscapes. I spend a lot of time working from home and the job can get, well you know, quite rough at times. The sounds help give a different perspective as though rather than in four walls I am out in the country ... yes even with the kids and the dogs and whatever. Really easy and soothing.’

Listener Neil loves the ‘soundscape’ episodes of Hello You

And he’s not alone. Every time I publish an episode with even a brief soundscape in it, I get appreciative messages like Neil’s.

Leave a comment

I’d not done a simple soundscape for a while, so here’s one that I hope will help you through the week.

As always, let me know what you think.

If you enjoy Hello You, please click Like, and share it with your friends? The more people that know about it, the happier I’ll be.

If you subscribe (it’s free!) or encourage other people to subscribe, I’ll be even happier!

Share Jim’s Substack

Bench!

I’ve planned a few more Bench sessions. This is where I sit on a bench in a public place, and record conversations with whoever else sits on the bench with me. It might be you, coming along because you know I’ll be there and you have something to say, a story to tell or a topic you want to talk about.

It might be a complete stranger who just happens to sit next to me. What’s on their mind? What is their story?

So, here’s when and where I’ll be sitting on a bench over the coming weeks. Come and say hello?

Saturday July 25 (this Saturday!) - the bench outside the Happy Bap café in Bishops Castle, 12:30pm

Monday July 27 (Bank Holiday Monday!) - a bench at Lyth Hill, 11am

Friday July 31 - in The Square in Much Wenlock, 1pm

Tuesday June 11 - in Mumma’s Emporium on Shrewsbury’s Pride Hill, 12:30pm

Friday June 21 - by the Weir in Shrewsbury, 1pm

Tuesday July 2 - one or more of the benches on Shrewsbury’s St Mary’s Place, 1pm

Friday July 12 - at the top of Shrewsbury’s Pride Hill, 1pm

Share

Take care of yourself, and enjoy the sunshine!

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.