Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 34: "You make your own family, don't you?"
11
0:00
-1:02:32

Hello You 34: "You make your own family, don't you?"

Talking women's health, how physical and mental health interact, nature and joy, with author Tracey J Morgan. And a lush soundscape from a Shropshire beauty spot.
11

We’ve mentioned before on Hello You, how physical health and mental health overlap. One can help make the other better, or worse. A change in one may well bring about change in the other.

Author (among many other things) Tracey Morgan knows all about this, from personal lived experience. She tells her story in this episode, touching on a range of topics including:

  • endometriosis

  • depression

  • hysteroscopy

  • women feeling dismissed or not taken seriously by doctors

  • dealing (or trying to) with not being able to have children

  • that feeling of ‘I can’t live like this any longer’

“My life has never panned out as I thought it would. I guess nobody’s does, does it?”

But Tracey has joy in her life, too, with her partner, her animals, her relationship with nature, and the happy places she goes to centre herself among the natural world.

I took the Hello You soundscape stereo rig to one of Tracey’s favourite places in Shropshire, to record the sound of being there. That makes up the second half of this episode. I hope it brings you the peace and contentment that Tracey finds there.

The recorder attracted the attention of this curious robin!

Also, listen out for a cuckoo who gets nearer and louder during the soundscape, and Max the curious spaniel who was intrigued by the mics and came for a sniffo!

Leave a comment

Where do you find your joy?

I asked this question in the first half-dozen episodes of Hello You, and I think, now it’s springtime, it’s time to ask it again. So, where do you find joy? Let me know?

Links for this episode

Tracey J Morgan on Facebook, Amazon, Searching for John Candy

Haughmond Hill on Forestry England, Visit Shropshire

Bench!

Fancy a chat? I’m a good listener … and I’ll be sitting on a bench in the Dingle, in Shrewsbury’s Quarry (Park), next Monday. Which is a Bank Holiday, so it’s the perfect day to enjoy a day out.

I’ll be there from about 1pm, for an hour or so. Come along and we can record some conversations for an episode of Hello You which I’ll try to get out the following day.

Next episode of Hello You

I’ve got lots of great interviews already done which I’m eager to share with you, and I’m recording more over the next couple of weeks. In the next episode, I’ll be discussing whether you can coach people to be happy!

That’ll be with you at the weekend. To make sure you don’t miss it, remember to subscribe (it’s free!)

Hit the buttons

Please click on any heart-shaped buttons or anything saying ‘LIKE’ wherever you’ve found this. It helps. The buttons are at the top and bottom of this email, along with buttons you can use to share Hello You with your friends. I’d really appreciate it if you did that. Thank you …

Share

And there are other buttons at the foot of the page that’ll take you to other places you might find interesting. Follow me on Twitter/X? We need more good people on there.

Take care of yourself …

… and take care of the people around you. I hope someone’s taking care of you, too.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.