Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 23: I'm an Ewok. No, I'm #AWOC
1
0:00
-29:04

Hello You 23: I'm an Ewok. No, I'm #AWOC

Small, furry ... and Ageing Without Children
1

I thought I’d figured out all the different ways I could describe myself, but then I came across a new one: AWOC - Ageing Without Children.

Share

It was thanks to a tweet from Denise Jackson, from Oakengates. She’s part of the active AWOC community, and she wonders if other people in similar circumstances would be interested in forming a Shropshire or Telford local group.

Denise explains more and tells her story in this podcast. She mentions quite a few different organisations and points of contact; here are the links to them -

Denise on Twitter

Denise on Facebook

Ageing Well Without Children

Gateway Women, founded by Jody Day, for women who are childless for whatever reason

The Full Stop (podcast, newsletter, online community) supports people who are childless not by choice for any reason, and their friends, family and colleagues

Childless Collective, an online community for childless women and nonbinary people

Dr Robin Hadley’s done a lot of work in this field and has a website investigating the complexities of male childlessness

World Childlessness Week 2024

Leave a comment

My job is just … bench

Come and say hello? I’ll be sitting on a bench tomorrow afternoon, Tuesday February 27th. It’s the bench at the junction of New Park Road and John Street in Castlefields, Shrewsbury. Thanks to Sandra for suggesting it!

I’ll be there from about 1:30pm, for an hour or so, recording conversations and the sounds around me. You can hear what happens on the next (probably) episode of Hello You … even if it’s just a soundscape.

Share Jim’s Substack

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.