Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 22: On Mike's Bench in the Market Hall
11
0:00
-47:54

Hello You 22: On Mike's Bench in the Market Hall

Butter buns, retro nightwear, Market Aunties and a travelling Shrewsbury soundscape
11

Sorry I didn’t get this to you sooner. I recorded it on Friday lunchtime, but I wasn’t feeling at all well yesterday (Saturday) - to put it mildly - so nothing got done.

Share

Anyway, it’s here now! And you can hear what happened when I went to Shrewsbury’s Market Hall, to sit on a very handsome and comfortable bench in the hope of recording some conversations.

There’s a travelling soundscape - audio movie, if you like - and you can meet Bethany and Terry while getting a sense of what life is like in what is officially Britain’s favourite market, for the second year in a row.

Bethany Hinton and Terry Trickett, Shrewsbury Market Hall

My next bench excursion will be on Tuesday February 27th. At Sandra’s suggestion, I’ll be sitting on the bench at the junction of New Park Road and John Street, in the Castlefields area of Shrewsbury. I’ll bother from about 1:30pm, and I’d love it if you came along to say hello and record a chat. If you’re in that part of town, spread the word? I’d be grateful.

Share

I’d be grateful, too, if you could share this with your friends, contacts, social media pages and so on? And if you don’t yet subscribe … click here! It’s free!

Maybe you know of someone you’d like to hear in conversation on Hello You. Perhaps you can think of a really great bench I could sit on to talk to people. Or you’ve got something to say about this, or past episodes? Possibly an answer to the question I pose in this episode, about how to be more visible without being too obvious?

Leave a comment

More from the Hello You-niverse very soon.

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.