Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
Hello You 21: Steve Wright, and a peaceful Shrewsbury soundscape
10
0:00
-33:19

Hello You 21: Steve Wright, and a peaceful Shrewsbury soundscape

Why do we feel sadness at the passing of people we never met?
10

Steve Wright began working in radio in the mid-to-late 1970s. I started in 1980, so for the whole time I’ve been in the industry, Steve Wright has been there too.

And for millions of people, Steve Wright was always there. Until he wasn’t.

I’ve been thinking out loud about Steve, and radio, and the BBC.

Share

Also, a new Shrewsbury soundscape, one in which very little happens.

My mum always used to crave ‘peace and quiet’; the two words were inseparable for her. If you too crave peace and quiet, or just an escape from the ever-present noise around you, this soundscape is for you. Recorded in St Alkmund’s Church, Shrewsbury, this lunchtime. I was the only person there. You can just about hear the distant sounds of the life of the town carrying on, while you and I share an oasis of … not quite silence, as you’ll hear, but something close to it.

You might want to revisit this episode when you need a few minutes’ quietness. Put your earbuds in or your headphones on, and sink into the silence.

Recording in St Alkmund's Church, Shrewsbury

As I left the church, it occurred to me that the view from the door has hardly changed in centuries. I find that rather comforting.

On Friday lunchtime, I’ll be recording in Shrewsbury’s Market Hall, voted Britain’s favourite market two years in a row! There’s a bench in the middle of the lower floor. I’ll be sitting there from about 12:30pm. Come and join me, and we can have a chat? Plus I’ll wander around and do at least one Market Hall soundscape, too.

I’ll try to get that episode of Hello You out by Friday evening, but it might be Saturday morning by the time it reaches you. Subscribe (it’s free!) on Substack to make sure you don’t miss it.

And if you’re interested in radio, mental health, wellbeing, Shrewsbury, Shropshire or just interested in people, subscribe and share this? Because if you’re a nice person like that, you probably know other nice people, and sharing is a nice thing to do.

Share Jim’s Substack

Where else could I sit on a bench to talk to whomsoever stops by? Suggestions welcome!

Get more from Jim Hawkins in the Substack app
Available for iOS and Android

Discussion about this podcast

Hello You - Jim Hawkins’s Substack
Hello You with Jim Hawkins
I’m trying to give you something a little different. Hello You is about stuff, and things. People, and stories. Shrewsbury, and Shropshire. Mental health and well-being. History and heritage. Arts, culture and music. Faith, belief and the complexities of life.
I’m a good listener. It’s what I do. And for Hello You, I’m listening to (and talking with) fascinating people, mostly but not always from Shropshire, so that you can hear what they have to say.
It's public-service local journalism that cares about people. Audio that brings you the voices of people you might not hear from otherwise. Interviews conducted with compassion and empathy. Thoughtful, positive, good-humoured conversations, informed local storytelling, and commentary that’s not afraid to get righteously angry on occasion.